All NewsEgyptWorld Champs

World Team Championship Line-Ups – & Kiwis Competing – Confirmed

SP_1279615 of the top 20 players in the world will compete in the 2015 WSF Men’s World Team Squash Championship in Egypt next month.

Initial squads for the 25th biennial World Squash Federation championship, which will take place at the Al Ahly Club in Cairo from 12-18 December, have been confirmed today – as has the participation of New Zealand, after earlier withdrawing from the Championship. The seedings for the Championship are due to be released on 30 November, while final squad orders are submitted on the eve of the event.

Defending champions England will be led by world No.2 Nick Matthew, supported by Daryl Selby (world No.16), James Willstrop (No.24) and event debutant Chris Simpson (No.23).

Hosts Egypt, however, boast a formidable four-man squad comprising players from within the world top 12 – featuring world No.1 Mohamed Elshorbagy, No.3 Ramy Ashour, No.6 Omar Mosaad and No.12 Tarek Momen.

Former champions Australia will present a line-up including two world top 20 players – Cameron Pilley (19) and Ryan Cuskelly (20) – while twice runners-up France have a line-up including two world top ten players, Gregory Gaultier (3) and Mathieu Castagnet (8).

Kuwait have withdrawn from the event following the suspension of their National Olympic Committee by the IOC as the opportunity to compete under the WSF flag was declined.

The full list of participating nations is: Argentina, Australia, Austria, Canada, Colombia, Egypt, England, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong China, India, Iraq, Republic of Korea, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Pakistan, Qatar, Scotland, South Africa, Switzerland and USA.


Full Lineups on the WSF Men’s Teams Official Site


Related Articles

Back to top button