All NewsGermanyWorld Champs

England Seeded To Reclaim World Team Title

England have been named as top seeds for the WSF Men’s World Team Squash Championship later this month inGermany, according to the draw revealed today.

A record-equalling 32 nations will compete in the 2011 championship at the Ahorn-Sportpark in Paderborn, from 21-27 August.

England, led by world number one Nick Matthew, are four times winners of the title since 1995. But in the 2009 championship in Denmark, the former champions finished a lowly fourth after Matthew suffered an ankle injury during an early qualifying tie against Germany.

The top seeds will again line up against hosts Germany, the 16th seeds, in the Pool A qualifying group – with Spain and Ireland.

Egypt, winners of the title for the second time two years ago, are the No2 seeds. Expected to be led by Ramy Ashour, the world No2, Egypt will line up against 15th seeds New ZealandHong Kong China and Sweden in Pool B.

France, runners-up in 2009, have been named as third seeds and will head Pool C – while Australia, winners of the title for a record eighth time in 2003, are the No4 seeds.

The 2011 World Team Championship, the 23rd staging of the biennial event since 1967, will be held in Germany for the first time. Christian Wulff, President of the Federal Republic of Germany, is the Patron of the Championship.

Full Pool line-up (with seeding in brackets):

POOL A: England (1), Germany (16), Spain, Ireland
POOL B: Egypt (2), New Zealand (15), Hong Kong China, Sweden
POOL C: France (3), Netherlands (14), Argentina, Korea
POOL D: Australia (4), Finland (13), Colombia, Bermuda
POOL E: Malaysia (5), Pakistan (12), Denmark, Austria
POOL F: India (6), South Africa (11), Kuwait, Hungary
POOL G: Canada (7), Mexico (10), Scotland, Namibia
POOL H: USA (8), Italy (9), Switzerland, Ukraine

Related Articles

One Comment

Your Coments:

Back to top button