Hi, I had this situation arise in a match I had a while ago. My opponent hit a loopy shot to the middle, and I made a fake swing at the ball, and continued tracking it back. As I was tracking it back, my opponent, who was behind me and seemed to have fallen for my fake swing, started moving forward, and moved into my next swing, preventing me from playing the ball. It's safe to say that if I hadn't made a fake swing at the ball but we still ended up in that scenario, the ref, my opponent and I would all agree it would be a stroke, but we seemed a bit confused as to how a fake swing would change this scenario. It was eventually called a let out of uncertainty by the ref, but it was clear that it was a fake swing, rather than an unintentional miss, as even my opponent appealed that he was drawn in by my 'fake shot'. What is the correct ruling on this, assuming it's clear that its a fake swing? Does the further attempt rule apply here at all? I'm curious as I've never seen this situation arise in a professional match but I don't think it's far-fetched scenario to draw someone into you with a fake swing and then be prevented from playing your next swing.
Please fill in an answer
Opponent anticipates strikers next shot and starts early movement to where he assumes the ball will go. As a consequence, he is struck by the strikers racket (striker has executed a reasonable swing). He is injured and requires recovery time. Is this contributed or self inflicted? What is match outcome if he cannot continue?
It appears from your description that he was crowding his opponent who played his shot with a standard and not excessive swing. So the injury should be deemed self inflicted and 3 minutes injury time would be allowed. If ultimately he cannot continue the match will be awarded to his opponent.
Can I have a let if I have turned and am making a further attempt? Example; opponent serves, I swing and miss the return completely (either on the volley or off the side wall), I turn and am in a position to make a good return off the back wall (further attempt) but opponent is now on the T so I don't play the ball but call a let for fear of hitting him/her. The rules (8.13.3) appear to cover the scenario where the turn is intentional, but not when it is not. Please clarify. Thanks
Yes you should be awarded a Let for holding your shot.
If you play the shot and hit your opponent you would have a Stroke awarded against you so best to hold your shot.
Good afternoon - If a player hits a bad shot to the center of the court ( the T ) and from there, his opponent hits to the back corner and the direct line to that corner for me is through the T, does the opponent have to move and give me direct access or do I have to go around him, as I played the poor shot to the T in the first place ?
The player has no right to remain on the T even though you played a poor shot. The Player should provide you with direct access to the ball in the back corner and move in a direction which allows this.
Intentionally hurting the opponent and hitting the opponent with the ball What is the referee’s decision?
The Referee should award a Conduct Penalty against the player which should be at least a Conduct Stroke but more likely a Conduct Game or Match depending on how dangerous the situation.