All NewsGermanyWorld Champs

Top Squash Stars Head For World Glory In Germany

A star-studded international field led by all but one of the top 15 squash players in the world will line up in the WSF Men’s World Team Championship next week as a record-equalling 32 nations compete for the prestigious World Squash Federation title in Germany.

All the action will take place at the Ahorn-Sportpark in Paderborn, from 21-27 August, as the sport presents its first senior world championship since the IOC announcement that Squash is on the shortlist for Olympic inclusion in 2020.

England, winners of the title four times since 1995, have been named as top seeds – ahead of defending champions Egypt, winners of the trophy second time in the 2009 championship in Denmark.

But this year’s favourites came an all-time low fourth in Odense after top string Nick Matthew, now the world number one, suffered an ankle injury during an early qualifying tie against Germany.

England, led again by Matthew, will again line up against hosts Germany, the 16th seeds, in the Pool A qualifying group – with Spain and Ireland.

Meanwhile Egypt, led by world No2 Ramy Ashour, will line up against 15th seeds New ZealandHong Kong China and Sweden in Pool B.

“Thirty two nations, a fantastic venue, great presentation, great passion,” said WSF President N Ramachandran, who will be attending the championship.

“This championship illustrates so clearly why we feel we should be considered for a place at the Olympic table.”

The 2011 World Team Championship, the 23rd staging of the biennial event since 1967, will be held in Germany for the first time. Christian Wulff, President of the Federal Republic of Germany, is the Patron of the Championship.

Full Pool line-up (with seeding in brackets):
POOL A: England (1), Germany (16), Spain, Ireland
POOL B: Egypt (2), New Zealand (15), Hong Kong China, Sweden
POOL C: France (3), Netherlands (14), Argentina, Korea
POOL D: Australia (4), Finland (13), Colombia, Bermuda
POOL E: Malaysia (5), Pakistan (12), Denmark, Austria
POOL F: India (6), South Africa (11), Kuwait, Hungary
POOL G: Canada (7), Mexico (10), Scotland, Namibia
POOL H: USA (8), Italy (9), Switzerland, Ukraine

Related Articles

Your Coments:

Back to top button